Jonwayne – The Death Of Andrew EP + upcoming Vancouver performance

A few weeks ago, Jonwayne released a new EP called The Death Of Andrew via Daddy Kev‘s trailblazing Alpha Puprecords – an instrumental 6 track EP full of chunky & ominous head noddin’ beats, complete with woozy synths, live piano bits, and a sprinkling of 8bit/chiptune influences throughout..

Jonwayne – King

The lead single “King” was posted up as a free download via Prefix Mag, and is a dark brooding piece – a stripped down beat with dark piano chords layered underneath a wash of dissonant synths, topped off with a timely Rick Ross sample assuring you that he’s “treated like a King” during his visits to Haiti.. Check the Young Jeezy ft Rick Ross tune that he sampled here, – that phrase is from the start of Rick Ross’s verse, around 1:20.

Personally my favorite tune on the new EP is “Immobile,” listen to it below..

Jonwayne – Immobile

Jonwayne is an LA-based rapper & producer, and has been a regular guest at the legendary Low End Theory night for some time.  He also reps Stone’s Throw as well as the Wedidit Collective alongside Shlohmo, bridging the gap between the hip hop world and the experimental bass music scene (though I guess in today’s LA beat scene that must be getting to be a pretty crowded bridge).  He’s an incredibly disciplined beatmaker with plenty of releases coming through in the past bit, each of the following were released over the past year or 2..

  • the brand new Death of Andrew EP
  • 2011’s  instrumental LP Bowser, which was his first Alpha Pup release
  • the two self-produced beat CDs The Wayniac and Doodles
  • the (highly recommended) I Don’t Care rap mixtape which showcases his rhymes, and features production from the likes of Dilla, Flying Lotus, Dibiase & Samiyam
  • free beat compilation Thanks, Bro full of material that didn’t make the cut for his other albums
  • Remixes are Things, a free EP of bootleg remixes of rappers like Twista, Chingy, Drake & Gucci Mane

I’ll leave it to you go through each of those releases, and just leave you with a few more gems – the Petey Pablo-sampling “Beady Bablo” from Bowser first off – this track is a real thick piece of wonk.. The latter two are are tracks from his rap mixtape I Don’t Care, the first of which finds Dibiase on the buttons, crafting an existential beat over which Jonwayne drops his unique flow.. The last track, “Just A Minute,” is self-produced & features an beguiling sample from “Somebody Please” by The Vanguards.

Jonwayne – Beady Bablo

Jonwayne – Kill The Spot (production by Dibiase)

Jonwayne – Just A Minute

And so yes as I mentioned, Jonwayne is coming to Vancouver on Saturday December 3rd at the W2 Storyeum, alongside Africa Hitech & labelmate Dibiase on the Surefire Sound 2011 Winter Tour – with a line up stacked that high, it’s most certainly not a show to be missed.. Click here for the facebook event page.

This entry was posted in Future, Hip Hop and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jonwayne – The Death Of Andrew EP + upcoming Vancouver performance

  1. Pingback: Africa Hitech – new EP & tour w/ Vancouver date | Daily Dread

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s